German colonialism – an overview

From 1884 on, the German Empire took to occupy overseas colonies and so called »Schutzgebiete« (lit. protected areas). The foundations were laid by private traders, like Carl Peters, and a number of colonial societies who occupied strategically important trade stations, both acting upon mere economic interests. At first the question whether the German Empire should acquire colonies was ridden in controversy. Chancellor Otto von Bismarck initially deemed it an unnecessary and costly endeavour yet later nevertheless put the areas under the protection of the German Empire. At the Berlin Congo Conference in 1884/85 the private societies' claims of overseas possessions, often acquired in dubious ways, were designated as imperial »Schutzgebiete« and as such incorporated into the state project.

On the invitation of the German government, the most important European powers with colonial aspirations gathered in Berlin in November 1884 to confer about the division of the African continent. In the course of the conference the German Empire was granted the colonies of Cameroon, Togo, German Southwest Africa (today Namibia), German East Africa (today the states of Tanzania continental, Rwanda and Burundi), Kiautschou in China as well as Samoa and German New Guinea in the Pacific, bereaving the respective inhabitants of their possessions, their dignity and culture and not seldom, their lives.(1) The indigenous population was refused a proprietary historical development – the latter rather aligned and defined in accordance with the, predominantly economical, interests of the colonial rulers.(2)

of the inhabitants. Any form of resistance against the occupation was mostly suppressed, often violently, by the German colonial army. Key examples of the many colonial wars are the battle against the Maji-Maji movement in East Africa (1905-1907) and the genocide on the Herero and Nama in present-day Namibia. In the period around 1904-1905, an estimated 75000 Herero and Nama found their deaths in the war against the Germans.(3) Until today, there has been no official apology from the German side.

of Versailles in 1919. As a consequence of the defeat in the First World War, the German colonies were designated mandate areas by the League of Nations, to be administered by
other colonial powers. Nevertheless, the idea of colonial revisionism became a popular movement between the world wars, tied to the rising influence of National Socialist ideology: the National Socialist protagonists saw the loss the colonies as an injustice done and advocated for a recovery of the colonial possessions.(4) During the Third Reich, the colonial societies were merged into the Reichskolonialbund (imperial colonial federation) and a Kolonialpolitisches Amt (colonial-political department) was established.

Even when the decolonisation of Africa seems to have found a historical point of conclusion throughout the second half of the 20th century, the consequences of colonialism can still be asserted into the present day. Through historical colonialism there have been confounded particular imaginations and views of the world, aside from political and economical structures. The categorisation in colonising and colonised is still reproduced into racist opposites as White/Black, indigenous/cultivated or developing country/industrial nation.

  • (1) Vgl. Sebastian Conrad: Deutsche Kolonialgeschichte. C.H. Beck: München 2008, S. 28 – 34.
  • (2) Vgl. Jürgen Osterhammel: Kolonialismus. Geschichte – Formen – Folgen. C.H. Beck: München 1995, S. 19ff.
  • (3) Vgl. Sebastian Conrad: Deutsche Kolonialgeschichte, a.a.O., S. 53.
  • (4) Vgl. Alexandre N'Dumbe: Was wollte Hitler in Afrika? NS-Planungen für eine faschistische Neugestaltung Afrikas. IKO: Frankfurt 1993, S. ???.
Images on this page:

Above right: Wikimedia

Colonial properties
in Africa 1914

 

 

 Belgium

 Germany

 France

 Great-Britain

 Italy

 Portugal

 Spain

Der deutsche Kolonialismus – ein Überblick

Ab 1884 nahm das Deutsche Kaiserreich überseeische Kolonien und so genannte »Schutzgebiete« in Besitz. Ausgangspunkt waren die Initiativen privater Kaufleute, wie Carl Peters, sowie diverser Kolonialgesellschaften, die aus rein wirtschaftlichen Gründen strategisch wichtige Handelspunkte besetzten. Die Frage, ob das Deutsche Reich Kolonien erwerben sollte, war zunächst umstritten. Reichskanzler Otto von Bismarck hielt es anfangs für ein unnützes und kostspieliges Abenteuer, stellte die Gebiete später doch unter den Schutz des Deutschen Reiches. Mit der Berliner Kongo-Konferenz von 1884/85 wurden zwielichtig erworbene Rechte privater Gesellschaften an überseeischen Besitzungen zu kaiserlichen »Schutzgebieten« und somit zu einem staatlichen Projekt.

Auf Einladung der deutschen Regierung trafen sich im November 1884 die wichtigsten europäischen Mächte mit Kolonialbestrebungen in Berlin, um über die Aufteilung des afrikanischen Kontinentes zu beraten. In der Folge erhielt das Deutsche Kaiserreich die Kolonien Kamerun, Togo, Deutsch-Südwestafrika (heutiges Staatsgebiet Namibia), Deutsch-Ostafrika (heutige Staatsgebiete: Festland-Tansania, Ruanda und Burundi), Kiautschou in China sowie Samoa und Deutsch-Neuguinea im Pazifik und beraubte die dort ansässigen EinwohnerInnen ihres Eigentums, ihrer Würde und Kultur sowie nicht selten ihres Lebens.(1) Eine historische Eigenentwicklung blieb der einheimischen Bevölkerung verwehrt – sie wurde auf die vornehmlich wirtschaftlichen Interessen der Kolonialherren ausgerichtet und fremdgesteuert.(2)

In fast allen Kolonien stießen die KolonisatorInnen auf mehr oder weniger starken Widerstand der BewohnerInnen. Die deutsche Kolonialarmee schlug jegliche Form des Widerstandes gegen die Inbesitznahme meist blutig nieder. Die zentralen Beispiele für die vielen Kolonialkriege sind der Kampf gegen die Maji-Maji-Bewegung in Ostafrika (1905 – 1907) und der Völkermord an den Herero und Nama im heutigen Namibia. Etwa 75 000 Herero und Nama fanden dort 1904/1905 im Krieg gegen die Deutschen den Tod.(3) Offizielle Entschuldigungen von deutscher Seite für diesen Völkermord fehlen bis heute.

Die Kolonialzeit des Deutschen Reichs begann offiziell 1884 und endete mit dem Versailler Vertrag 1919. Die deutschen Kolonien wurden als Folge der Niederlage im Ersten Weltkrieg als Völkerbundmandatsgebiete unter die Verwaltung anderer Kolonialmächte gestellt. Dennoch wurde in der Zeit zwischen den Weltkriegen die Idee des Kolonialrevisionismus eine populäre Strömung, die sich mit dem erstarkenden Nationalsozialismus verband: Die NS-ProtagonistInnen sahen es als Unrecht an, dass Deutschland die Kolonien genommen wurden und drängten auf eine Wiedererlangung des Kolonialbesitzes.(4) Im Dritten Reich wurden die Kolonialvereine zum Reichskolonialbund zusammengefasst und ein Kolonialpolitisches Amt geschaffen.

Auch wenn die Dekolonisierung Afrikas mit der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts als historisch abgeschlossen gilt, wirken die Folgen des Kolonialismus bis heute fort. Im historischen Kolonialismus festigten sich neben politischen und wirtschaftlichen Strukturen auch Vorstellungen der Welt. Die Kategorisierung in Kolonisierende und Kolonisierte lebt in rassistischen Gegensatzpaaren wie Weiß / Schwarz, Naturvolk / Kulturvolk oder auch Entwicklungsland / Industrienation weiter.

  • (1) Vgl. Sebastian Conrad: Deutsche Kolonialgeschichte. C.H. Beck: München 2008, S. 28 – 34.
  • (2) Vgl. Jürgen Osterhammel: Kolonialismus. Geschichte – Formen – Folgen. C.H. Beck: München 1995, S. 19ff.
  • (3) Vgl. Sebastian Conrad: Deutsche Kolonialgeschichte, a.a.O., S. 53.
  • (4) Vgl. Alexandre N'Dumbe: Was wollte Hitler in Afrika? NS-Planungen für eine faschistische Neugestaltung Afrikas. IKO: Frankfurt 1993, S. ???.
Abbildungen dieser Seite:

rechts oben: Wikimedia

Kolonialbesitz
in Afrika 1914

 

 

 Belgien

 Deutschland

 Frankreich

 Großbritannien

 Italien

 Portugal

 Spanien